APC clears Babatunde Irukera after protest

Supporters of the Director-General of the Federal Competition and Consumer Protection Commission, Babatunde Irukera, stormed the All Progressives Congress, APC National Secretariat in Abuja on Wednesday to protest against his disqualification from the Kogi State governorship primary holding on Thursday, today.

The party, in a statement issued by the National Publicity Secretary, Lanre Issa-Onilu, had announced the disqualification of Irukera; a former Chief of Naval Staff, Admiral Jibrin Usman (retd.) and five others.

ALSO READ:  Broadcaster, Nollywood actor Jide Ogungbade is dead

Others disqualified are a former Director-General of the Nigeria Space Research and Development Agency, Prof. Mohammed Onaili, two sons of former Governor Audu: Mohammed and Mustapha; Gen. Patrick Akpa and Hajia Rukkaya brahim.

ALSO READ:  PHOTO NEWS: Nigeria signs MOU with European Union

The National Working Committee of the party cleared nine aspirants for the August 29 governorship primary in Kogi State.

Those cleared are the incumbent governor, Yahaya Bello, a former president of the Nigeria Football Federation, Sani Abdullahi; and a younger brother to the late governor Abubakar Audu, Yahaya.

ALSO READ:  Nigerians must get the electricity they paid for - Gbajabiamila

Others are Hadiza Ibrahim, Abubakar Bashir, Danlami Mohammed, Yakubu Mohammed, Hassan Abdullahi and Ekele Blessing.

The supporters of Irukera, under the aegis of Kogi Mandate Group, stormed the secretariat chanting different hate songs and carrying placards with various inscriptions including, “APC, learn from Zamfara” and “Irukera is our choice.”

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *